Mary Stallings and Michel Portal to receive the 2018 Donostiako Jazzaldia Award



The Donostiako Jazzaldia Award was introduced in 1994 to recognise the career and example of enormously important artists in the jazz of yesterday and today.

The 2018 Award will be presented during the Festival to the singer Mary Stallings and the multi-instrumentalist Michel Portal.

The catalogue of names to have won the award constitutes an impressive list of some of the leading jazz talents.

1994: Doc Cheatham

1995: Phil Woods

1996: Hank Jones

1997: Steve Lacy

1998: Chick Corea

1999: Max Roach and Clark Terry

2000: Kenny Barron

2001: Ray Brown

2002: Elvin Jones

2003: Bebo Valdés

2004: Shirley Horn and Fernando Trueba

2005: Keith Jarrett and Charles Mingus (in memoriam)

2006: Herbie Hancock

2007: Wayne Shorter

2008: Ahmad Jamal

2009: Roy Haynes

2010: Ron Carter

2011: Toots Thielemans

2012: Jimmy Cobb and Pierre Lafont (in memoriam)

2013: Lee Konitz and Juan Claudio Cifuentes

2014: Toshiko Akiyoshi

2015: Benny Golson

2016: Ellis Marsalis

2017: Charles Lloyd

Comments are closed.