The artist at the forefront of today’s jazz, John Zorn, will receive the Donostiako Jazzaldia Award in San Sebastian



John Zorn will receive the 2019 Donostiako Jazzaldia Award, presented by the San Sebastian Heineken Jazzaldia in recognition of his profound influence on contemporary jazz.

John Zorn is a composer, instrumentalist and catalyst of an innovative scene encompassing hundreds of musicians of enormous importance and repercussion in today’s jazz. It is impossible to conceive the jazz made in New York today without the intervention of musicians who move in Zorn’s sphere.

John Zorn will return to the Heineken Jazzaldia following the resounding success of his Masada Marathon in 2013. This time round, he’ll do it as the frontman of the Bagatelles Marathon, split into two afternoon sessions at the Kursaal Auditorium; one on July 27th and the other on July 28th.

Zorn will receive the Donostiako Jazzaldia Award on Sunday 28 July at 17:00 on stage, before the start of his second concert.

The musical marathon will involve 14 different ensembles who will perform more than 50 compositions from The Bagatelles, John Zorn’s expansive new book of music. Among the more than thirty participating musicians are Mary Halvorson, Marc Ribot, Kris Davis, Julian Lage, Dave Douglas, Joey Baron, Craig Taborn, Peter Evans, John Medeski, Ikue Mori, Erik Friedlander, Mark Feldman, Sylvie Courvoisier, Kenny Wollesen, Trevor Dunn and many more who understand Zorn’s creative universe like nobody else.

Donostiako Jazzaldia Award

1994: Doc Cheatham

1995: Phil Woods

1996: Hank Jones

1997: Steve Lacy

1998: Chick Corea

1999: Max Roach and Clark Terry

2000: Kenny Barron

2001: Ray Brown

2002: Elvin Jones

2003: Bebo Valdés

2004: Shirley Horn and Fernando Trueba

2005: Keith Jarrett and Charles Mingus (in memoriam)

2006: Herbie Hancock

2007: Wayne Shorter

2008: Ahmad Jamal

2009: Roy Haynes

2010: Ron Carter

2011: Toots Thielemans

2012: Jimmy Cobb and Pierre Lafont (in memoriam)

2013: Lee Konitz and Juan Claudio Cifuentes

2014: Toshiko Akiyoshi

2015: Benny Golson

2016: Ellis Marsalis

2017: Charles Lloyd

2018: Mary Stallings and Michel Portal


Comments are closed.