MAC Saxophone Quartet – Rosario Giuliani: The Future of Tradition


MAC Foto Web Jazzaldia 900x500

Rosario Giuliani (soprano & alto sax), Stefano Pecci (soprano sax), Luis Lanzarini (alto sax), Alex Sebastianutto (tenor sax), Valentino Funaro (baritone sax)

A multidisciplinary project deeply rooted in the most noble of Italian music, where the typical art of Jazz improvisation embraces the style of the past. A millennium of masterpieces drawn from ancient Gregorian antiphonies and medieval musical codices, from the counterpoint of the Roman and Venetian renaissance era, and from the opera; a voyage through Italian time and sound brought to us in its entirety by artists outstanding for their adeptness at updating tradition.

Original arrangements, expressly prepared by Maestro Mario Corvini to highlight both the refined phraseology of Rosario Giuliani and the fascinating timbres of the MAC Saxophone Quartet, one of the most applauded for their commitment to the music of yesteryear and innovation of the Italian school.

Italian repertoire for classical jazz quartet and soloist:

Guido d’Arezzo (10th-12th centuries): Ut queant laxis
Laudario di Cortona (12th century): Magdalena degna da laudare
Giovanni Gabrieli (16th century): Canzon seconda a quattro
Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (16th century): Missa Brevis – Agnus Dei
Gregorio Allegri (16th-17th centuries): Miserere
Claudio Monteverdi (17th century): Toccata and prologue of “Orpheus”
Arcangelo Corelli (17th-18th centuries): Adagio, Concierto Grosso op. 6
Antonio Vivaldi (17th-18th centuries): “Winter”, 1st movement
Gioacchino Rossini (17th-19th centuries): from “Il barbiere di Siviglia”
Gaetano Donizetti (19th century): One Furtive Tear from “Elisir d’Amore”

Chillida Leku – important information

In collaboration with:




Comments are closed.